Lena experiences Christo – BIG AIR PACKAGE

Last year a very good friend of mine and me visited a very stunning exhibition by the world-famous artist Christo at the Gasometer in Oberhausen, Germany.

Naming his exhibition “Big Air Package” Christo set up a giant sculpture in the interior of the industrial building. It was made of 20,350 square metres of translucent fabric and 4,500 metres of rope. It reached a height of more than 90 metres, a diameter of 50 metres and a volume of 177,000 cubic metros. Thitherto it has been the largest self-supporting sculpture in the world.

Walking into this gigantic sculpture was amazing and just so magical. You couldn’t believe what you were seeing. Everything has been full of natural light. Simply stunning. I was so glad that I brought my camera with me and Lena enjoyed walking through this artwork as well.

If you are interested in Christo you could check his website by clicking here.

See more of my digital and analog Black and White Photography right here on my Tumblr.

I hope the photos give you a little impression of what it was like.

itisnovember_FAIR VSCO 0001 (1)

itisnovember_FAIR VSCO 0003 (1)

itisnovember_FAIR VSCO 0005 (1)

itisnovember_FAIR VSCO 0002 (1)

itisnovember_FAIR VSCO 0006 (1)

8 thoughts on “Lena experiences Christo – BIG AIR PACKAGE

  1. Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

    Happy New Year !!!!!!! and best wishes for you in 2014 :)

Leave a Reply

